Here comes the fun part. Because I have never written anything before for children, but I knew what I wanted to do. I wrote about the Paw Patrol characters and stuck with the words that he already knew or could sound out. With just 2-4 words and one sentence per page. I illustrated each page with photos I came up with from the internet, the story came together pretty fast.

Then I printed and stapled the pages together. Upon completion this 16 page book with only 20 different words, but plenty of action for him to enjoy. I was wishful that he would like the book, but his reaction not only surprised me but thrilled me also. He was so excited. It was like a dam broke and all the sudden he realized how fun reading actually can be. He started reading everything: road signs, cereal boxes and even some books that he wanted nothing to do with before.

In fear of loosing his motivation I created a book focused on our family. I paired it with old photographs with simple sentences. He loved that book as well. From then on his confidence was so high that their was no stopping him. He progressed so quickly and now in the fourth grade flies through the Harry Potter books. His younger brother wanted to learn how to read, so these handmade books are now being passed down to him.

See more about a reluctant reader. Leave us your comments. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Let us know what other topics you would like to have discussed. Share this post with your friends. Remember to always praise your child.

ChildrensBooks2U

Reluctant

Leave a Reply

