You are as tired of the word as your kids are of hearing it. Follow a parenting expert’s strategies for getting kids to behave by saying yes more often. Then sit back and enjoy the positive results.

At the end, of a busy weekend of baseball practice, birthday parties, and grocery shopping, we have family friends over for dinner. The kids are, simply put, crazy. Running around, pulling toys out of every basket, and jumping from couch to chair and then back again. My three sons come to me every 3 minutes with a different request. “No,” I say, barely listening to them. But then my 10-year-old makes a statement that does catch my attention. “My dad says no all the time,” he tells his buddy. Hearing my son describe me as a 24/7 “no” dad was surprised and a bit hurtful. I have to admit I do resort to the reflexive no, particularly during stressful times of the day, like the morning rush to get my oldest out the door for school and in the evening crunch around bedtime. Still, I do not want my kids to think I am not listening or considering their needs and requests. I want them to know they have a voice, a say in our family. So in an attempt to address my “no-ness,” I decided to reach out for a bit of assistance. Let’s face it, we all need it from time to time. Leave us your comments. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Let us know what other topics you would like to have discussed. Share this post with your family and friends. Remember to always praise your child.

ChildrensBooks2U

Comments

Leave a Reply

