Let us talk about it. Third grade is a time where it starts to get exciting at our school. The kids are allowed to walk home alone. When Jenna first asked me if she could, my gut told me to say “no.” I was a bit overwhelmed by all the risks: The school is more than a mile away, there are busy intersections, what if she gets lost or hurt, what if a stranger approaches her? It felt much easier to keep her safe and close.

But instead of giving in to my primal instinct, I followed some sound advice, “Hmmm let us talk about that.” I came up with three key questions. One: “Why is that important to you? (Jenna explained that everyone who walks home from school says it is fun, and she wants to have a little freedom). Two: “If I say ‘yes’ to your request, what are some important things that you need to remember to do?” (We sat down together with a map going over the route she would take and pointing out crossing guards and sidewalks). Three: “What can I do to help you be more successful?” (Jenna’s answer was simple: “Trust me.”) Once you know your child has covered all the bases, express confidence in her and let it happen.

On the first day, I allowed Jenna to walk home alone, I admit that I hid behind a tree in my yard until I saw her round the corner. Relieved, I ran inside so she wouldn’t catch me spying and gave her a hug when she proudly walked through the door. Though I mourned the loss of a piece of her childhood. I knew that I had made the right decision.

Sometimes we do not have the luxury to consider every request and have to say ‘no’. But it is crucial to let your kids know that you are taking their needs and desires into account and really considering them. Then they too, are more likely to feel they are being heard. Did you miss part 2? Leave us your comments. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Let us know what other topics you would like to have discussed. Share this post with your family and friends. Remember to always praise your child.

ChildrensBooks2U

walking

Leave a Reply

